Is Biden Some Sort of Joke?

Is Biden Some Sort of Joke?

Given my political leanings, you’ve probably got a good idea that Barak Hussein Obama isn’t real high on my list of who I want to be President of the United States.  In fact, he’s right down there with the candidate from the Communist Worker’s Party.  I’ll probably hold my nose and vote for John McCain, who is only marginally better, but not by much.  So who Barak Hussein Obama picks as his running mate is of very little consequence to me.  Barak is the headliner in that attraction.  I don’t care about the warm-up act.

But…uh…Joe Biden?  Seriously?

The spin on all of this is that Biden provides the foreign policy experience that Barak Hussein Obama lacks; woefully lacks, I might add.  Biden also has some twenty-plus years of senate experience, which could be used to bolster what little experience Obama has on the national level.  I mean, given what you hear from the media organs these days, this is the Democrat “dream team”.

With the exception that this is Joe Biden we’re talking about.

In recent memory, Joe Biden has made just a couple of gaffes, like the one he made on June 2006 when he was talking about immigrants in his home state of Delaware:

In Delaware, the largest growth in population is Indian-Americans moving from India.  You cannot go into a 7-11 or a Dunkin’ Donuts unless you have a slight Indian accent. Oh, I’m not joking.

Uncomfortable yet?  Wait, there’s more!  How about this brief little historical description of his state in August of 2006:

You don’t know my state. My state was a slave state. My state is a border state. My state is the eighth largest black population in the country. My state is anything from a northeast liberal state.

Okey…dokey.

In December 2006, he decided to further elaborate on his initial comments concerning Delaware:

…slave state that fought beside the North. That’s only because we couldn’t figure out how to get to the South. There were a couple of states in the way.

(Clears throat)

No wait: it gets worse!  Describing Barak Obama:

I mean, you got the first mainstream African-American who is articulate and bright and clean and a nice-looking guy.

Yes, we all know that Dr. Martin Luther King had a problem getting his message across, being as inarticulate, dim, and bad-looking as he was.

(Rolls eyes) 

Mind you, much of this was dismissed by Democrat loyalists, and barely a peep of denunciation was heard from the likes of the NAACP.  If you’ll recall back in the 1992 campaign, when Ross Perot made the mistake of using the words “you people” in a speech to the civil rights organization, he received a response that was only slightly more chilled then a winter’s Arctic bluster.  I guess the NAACP has better things to do that to eat its own.  However, I digress.

No, we’re not done yet.  It gets even worse.  What does Joe Biden think of John McCain?  On October 2007:

The only guy on the other side who’s qualified is John McCain.

On August 27, 2005:

John McCain is a personal friend, a great friend, and I would be honored to run with or against John McCain, because I think the country would be better off…

You could count on a stopwatch the amount of time it took the McCain camp to get a commercial that quoted Biden out on nationwide TV, after his selection for veep was confirmed.  I nearly p*ssed my pants laughing when I saw it.

And what does he think about Obama?  On December, 2007, his campaign manager (Luis Navarro) said:

If Iowans believe campaign funds and celebrity will fix the debacle in Iraq, put the economy on track, and provide health care and education for America’s children, they should support another candidate.

Luis Navarro also said on September 2006:

Sen. Obama said he would do everything possible to end the war in Iraq and emphasized the need for a political solution yet he failed to show up to vote for Sen. Biden’s critical amendment to provide a political solution in Iraq.

Biden also mentioned in an interview with the Huffington Post:

The more people learn about them (Obama and Hillary) and how they handle the pressure, the more their support will evaporate.

And in an interview with the New York Observer:

But — and the ‘but’ was clearly inevitable — he doubts whether American voters are going to elect ‘a one-term, a guy who has served for four years in the Senate,’ and added: ‘I don’t recall hearing a word from Barack about a plan or a tactic.’

But Joe Biden also has a streak of Al Gore in him as well.  In a true Al Gore-ian “I created the Internet” moment during a testy exchange with a reporter back in 1987, Senator Biden went off saying:

I think I probably have a much higher IQ than you do, I suspect!  I went to law school on a full academic scholarship, the only one in my — in my class, uh, to have a full academic scholarship. And the first year in law school I decided I didn’t want to be in law school and ended up in the bottom two-thirds of my class and then decided I wanted to stay, went back to law school and in fact ended up in the top half of my class. I won the international moot court competition. I was the outstanding student in the political science department at the end of my year.  I graduated with three degrees from undergraduate school and 165 credits — I only needed 123 credits — and I’d be delighted to sit down and compare my IQ to yours, if you’d like, Frank.

Later, Biden had to recant what he said.  The truth was, Joe graduated 76th in a class of 85, and he graduated with two degrees, not three.  He also had a half-scholarship, not a full one.

Add to that the fact that he was accused of plagiarism in law school, and was caught plagiarizing a speech from Neil Kinnock, and you get what’ll amount to a lively election season this time around.  This revelation was so bad, he had to drop out of the Democrat presidential primary in 1987.

But what’ll be most injurious to the Obama campaign is Joe Biden’s stance on the present Iraq conflict.  Biden voted for the war.  He’s also been a fairly strong advocate for the ongoing conflict.  What’s important is that, even as late as April 2007, Joe Biden was justifying the invasion of Iraq:

The threat [Saddam Hussein] presented was that, if Saddam was left unfettered, which I said during that period, for the next five years with sanctions lifted and billions of dollars into his coffers, then I believed he had the ability to acquire a tactical nuclear weapon — not by building it, by purchasing it. I also believed he was a threat in that he was — every single solitary U.N. resolution which he agreed to abide by, which was the equivalent of a peace agreement at the United Nations, after he got out of — after we kicked him out of Kuwait, he was violating. Now, the rules of the road either mean something or they don’t. The international community says “We’re going to enforce the sanctions we placed” or not. And what was the international community doing? The international community was weakening. They were pulling away.

Can someone please restate to me just what Barak Hussein Obama’s position on the Iraq war is again?

Also stated by Biden in 2007:

Well, the point is, it turned out they didn’t, but everyone in the world thought he had them (WMDs). The weapons inspectors said he had them. He catalogued — they catalogued them. This was not some, some Cheney, you know, pipe dream. This was, in fact, catalogued.

Remember who the Democrats are?  The people screaming “Bush lied, people died!”?  Think this isn’t going to hurt him with the base, and help John McCain?  Or President Bush?

In his defense, in all likelihood Joe Biden is probably a straight-forward guy who says what he thinks.  It probably endears him to his constituents, and the media.  He seems affable, charming, and fairly bright. This disarming personality probably allowed him to fly under the radar on a lot of things, because you don’t say stuff this blaringly stupid without having a little experience at it in the first place.  Joe has had twenty-plus years in the senate.  Only God knows what kind of stuff is just sitting out there, just waiting for some McCain researcher to dig up.  And I’m almost positive that this is EXACTLY what’s going on right now.  Someone with this advanced stage of Foot and Mouth Disease has to have some whoppers out there, just begging to be dredged up from the murky depths of obscurity.

Now I don’t want to be too hard on Senator Biden; the man is who he is.  For right or wrong, he says what he thinks.  I consider that an admirable trait – too few people practice this these days.  He’s been through a fair amount of hardship in his life, and has shown a remarkable amount of dedication to his office.  Plus the plagiarism thing is pretty common, especially for someone in school both young and dumb.  I would have thought he learned his lesson by 1987, but some people have to learn things the hard way.  Fine.  I can accept that.  No one is perfect.

To be honest, I can’t condemn Biden.  Like I said: he is what he is.

But you have got to wonder what in the hell some of the people in the Obama campaign were thinking when they were considering this guy.  Did they not know half of this stuff?  Do they honestly think that it won’t matter in this presidential campaign?

Plus, it doesn’t help Barak’s image at all that he’s TELEGRAPHING (in big, bold frickin’ letters) his weakness on foreign policy to the entire world during a presidential campaign, as his surrogates are presently doing.

Barak Hussein Obama is a weak candidate, who will be a weak president should Providence and Sensibility abandon this country.  But my guess is that Obama will never see the presidency.  I’m predicting that his candidacy will go down in flames, in a rather spectacular way.

One hopes that Senator Joe Biden will have a seat near the emergency exit, and quick access to a parachute.  A fire extinguisher and some flame-retardant undies wouldn’t hurt either.

 


Sources:Joe Biden’s just a barrel of gaffes, Los Angeles Times, Feb. 2007.
Joe Biden’s plagiarism problem, The American Thinker, August 2008.

Biden’s description of Obama draws scrutiny, CNN.com, Feb. 2007

‘Just Words’ That Joe Biden Would Like To Forget, National Review Online, Aug. 2008
 

 

Leave a Reply

